Dreams

DREAMS

Stage 1 – Choosing a Dream:

Here are some ideas for a project about dreams:

  1. Tell about a dream you or someone else had.
  2. Psychology or meaning of dreams. Click here
  3. A book, movie, songs about dreams.* for example, the Power of A Dream by Celine Dion
  4. My dream/ambition in life.
  5. Dreams in different cultures.
  6. Daydreaming.
  7. My dream for a better world.
  8. A fantasy story.
  9. A dream holiday/
  10. Dreams in the bible.
  11. “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” by Shakespeare.
  12. DreamSchool.
  13. Leaders’ Dreams (eg. Martin Luther King , Rabin) many leaders at TIME
  14.  Dreams of Olympic Sportsmen.
  15. A dream come true. See Example
  16. Dreamers who have succeeded (eg. Walt Disney, Christopher Columbus, Thomas Edison, Hellen Keller, Abraham Lincoln, Admiral Peary [North Pole], Amelia Earhart, Mahatma Gandhi, Kahlil Gibran, Henry Ford,)
    • Write in your document what idea you have chosen.
    • Write a short explanation of your idea.
    • What will the sections of your project be?

Stage 2 – Describing a Dream:

  1. Search for a Definition of “dreams” at Factmonster.com or at Time for Kids and copy in onto your page.
  2. Search for a quotation that you like about “dreams” and copy it onto your page. Quotations about dreams  Explain why you chose that quoation.
  3. Now Start writing about your topic.
  4. Make a cover page with your name, class and the title of your project.
  5. Write a table of contents including all the parts of your project.
  6. The first part of your project will be the quotation you found and your explanation of this quotation.
  7. Write a conclusion: Explain why you chose this subject.  Who does the dream belong to?  What is the dream about?  Can this dream come true?
  8. Write a bibliography.
  9. Find pictures for your project.
  10. Don’t forget to to check your spelling. Divide your writing into paragraphs.
  11. Use the guidelines for summarizing you learned in class.
  12. USE YOUR OWN WORDS – DO NOT COPY FROM THE INTERNET!

Stage 3 – Presenting a Dream

Present your dream in a Powerpoint presentation, a poster, a poem, a drawing, a comic strip, a video clip, a song, a blog

Stage 4 – Dreaming a Dream

Discuss your dream topic with the rest of the class.

 Stage 5 – Voting for a Dream

Vote for the best dream in the class.

Evaluation

Evaluation of Stage 1 – “Choosing a Dream”

Criteria

Excellent (30-33 points)

Good (20-29)

Needs Improvement (10-19)

Choosing an idea about “dreams”

I chose an idea and copied it onto my page

I haven’t really decided on an idea yet

I didn’t choose an idea

Explaining my idea

I wrote an explanation of my idea in correct English

I wrote an explanation with many mistakes

I didn’t write an explanation of my idea

Planning the sections of the project

I wrote the sections my project will contain

I wrote no more than two sections

I didn’t write the sections

Sub-total

……..points

……..points

……..points

Total

.

.

……..points

Evaluation of Stage 2 – “Describing a Dream”

Criteria

Excellent (7-8 points)

Good (6-7)

Needs Improvement (4-5)

Copying a definition and quotation about “dreams”

I copied a definition and a quotation

I copied a definition or a quotation

I copied neither a definition nor a quotation

Writing an example or explanation of the quotation

I wrote about the quotation I chose

I wrote about the quotation I chose with a few mistakes

I didn’t write anything

Creating a cover page

I created a cover page with all the necessary information

I created a cover page with a few mistakes or information left out

I didn’t write a cover page

Writing a table of contents

I wrote a clear and correct table of contents

I wrote a fairly clear table of contents with a few spelling mistakes

I didn’t write a table of contents

Using correct grammar

I wrote without any grammar mistakes

I wrote with a few grammar mistakes

I wrote with many grammar mistakes

Explaining why you chose your topic

I explained clearly in correct English why I chose this subject

I explained partially why I chose my topic

I didn’t explain why I chose my topic

Explaining whose dream it is

I explained clearly whose dream this is

I partially explained whose dream this is

I didn’t explain whose dream this is

Explaining the content of the dream

I explained clearly what the content of this dream is

I partially explained what the content of this dream is

I didn’t explain what the content of this dream is

Can the dream come true?

I clearly wrote a possible answer to this question

I wrote an unclear answer to this question

I didn’t write an answer to this question

Describing the dream

I described the dream in an interesting way

I described the dream in a fairly interesting way

I didn’t describe the dream

Writing a conclusion

I wrote a conclusion that shows that I thought about the topic

I wrote a conclusion that isn’t really connected to the topic

I didn’t write a conclusion

Writing a bibliography

I wrote a full bibliography

I wrote a partial bibliography

I didn’t write a bibliography

Using graphics in the project

I included graphics that are connected to the topic I chose

I included graphics that are not connected to my topic

I didn’t include graphics at all

Sub-total

……..points

……..points

……..points

Total

.

.

……..points

Evaluation of Stage 3 – “Presenting a Dream”:

Criteria

Excellent (9-10 points)

Good (7-8)

Needs Improvement (5-6)

Introduction

The introduction is clear and relates to the topic

The introduction is fairly clear and partially relates to the topic

There is no introduction

Content

The content is written with a logical progression of ideas and supporting information

The content is written with a logical progression of ideas but has no supporting information

The content is minimal

Text Elements

The fonts are easy to read

The fonts are easy to read in most places

The fonts are not easy to read

Graphics, Sound, Animation

The graphics sound and animation are connected to the content of the presentation

The graphics sound and animation are partially connected to the content of the presentation

There are no graphics sound and animation.

Writing (Grammar and Spelling)

There are no grammar or spelling mistakes

There are a few grammar or spelling mistakes

There are many grammar or spelling mistakes

Layout

The layout uses white space

The layout uses white space in some places

The layout is confusing

Sub-total

……..points

……..points

……..points

Total

.

.

……..points

Evaluation of Stage 4 – “Dreaming a Dream”: to Evaluation

Did you participate in the class discussion?

General Reflection Sheet

Please write your reflections about the “Dreams Project”.

      1. My name is:
      2. The title of my project is:
      3. I learned these things while doing this project:
      4. I especially enjoyed this part of my project:
      5. I especially disliked this part of my project:
      6. I learned these new skills:
      7. I learned these new words:
      8. Finally, I’d like to say that…
About orabaumgarten

Workshop Facilitator, ICT Tools for EFL/ESL Teachers
This entry was posted in Ora's Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

